Air Force Common Admission Test (AFCAT) is a written exam conducted by Indian Air Force twice every year to induct officers in the IAF. The written exam is followed by Air Force Selection Board Interview for shortlisted candidates. AFCAT gives graduates, both male and female, an opportunity to join world’s 4th largest Air Force as officers for both Short Service Commission(SSC) in Flying Branch and Permanent Commission (PC)/ Short Service Commission(SSC) Ground Duty (Technical and Non-technical) Branches. Candidate can check more details regarding AFCAT including important date, eligibility criteria, exam pattern, syllabus, selection procedure, etc in the article below.

AFCAT 01/2018  AFCAT 02/2018 AFCAT 01/2019


AFCAT is held twice every year for the recruitment in Indian Air Force. Interested candidates can check the important dates regarding AFCAT from below:

Events AFCAT 01/2018 AFCAT 02/2018 AFCAR 01/2019
Online Application From start date 25 Dec 2017 16 Jun 2018 01 Dec 2018
Last date to fill the Application From 23 Jan 2018 15 Jul 2018 30 Dec 2018
Availability of admit card 09 Feb 2018 01 Aug 2018 30 Jan 2019
AFCAT Exam Date 25 Feb 2018 18 & 19 Aug 2018 16 & 17 Feb 2019
Result 12 Apr 2018 to be announced to be announced

AFCAT Branches

The upcoming examination will be held for the intake of candidates in the following branches:

Entry Branch
AFCAT Entry Flying
Ground Duty (Technical)
Ground Duty (Non-technical)
NCC Special Entry Flying
Meteorology Branch Ground Duty (Non-technical)

Type of Commission

  • PC for Men  Candidates joining as PC officers would continue to serve until the age of superannuation as per their branch and rank.
  • SSC for Men & Women
    1. The engagement period for Flying Branch SSC officers is fourteen years from the date of Commissioning (Not extendable).
    2. The initial tenure for SSC officers in Ground Duty (Tech and Non-tech) Branches would be for a period of ten years. An extension of four years may be granted subject to willingness, suitability, service requirements and availability of vacancies.

Training Period

The duration of training for Flying and Ground Duty (Technical) Branches is 74 weeks and that of Ground Duty (Non-technical) Branches is 52 weeks at Air Force Training Establishments.

AFCAT Syllabus

While preparing for any examination, it’s important to know exactly what to study and where to study from. Any digression will lead to wastage of time and it’s well known that time is a major aspect in the competitive exam.

Following is the syllabus for the AFCAT :

Verbal Ability: This section tests the candidate’s English. For this, the candidate has to brush up his basic grammar, vocabulary and practice composition. Some of the topics are that occur in the exam are comprehension, error detection, synonyms, antonyms, testing of vocabulary, sentence completion etc.

Numerical ability: This section tests candidate’s mathematical aptitude. A few topics are the decimal fraction, simplification, average, percentage, ration and proportion, simple interest and profit and loss.

General Awareness: A few topics of this section are history, geography, environmental science, current affairs, current affairs, politics, civics, basic science, defence, and art.

Reasoning and Military aptitude: It includes verbal skills and spatial abilities.

Regular mock tests are essential to maintaining a speed and testing one’s self.

List of books for AFCAT preparation

High School English Grammar and Composition – Wren and Martin Buy Online
Word Power Made Easy – Norman Lewis Buy Online
Quantitative Aptitude for All Competitive Examination – R.S.Aggarwal Buy Online
Popular Master Guide, AFCAT – R.Gupta Buy Online

AFCAT Answer Key

Students who will appear in AFCAT may also look forward to getting the answer key of AFCAT on the conclusion of the exam. The Answer Key for AFCAT consists of the correct answers and with the help of the answer key, the candidates can cross check their answers. The key can also be used for the calculating the score as per the marking scheme and estimate their chances of qualifying the entrance examination.


The AFSB or the Air Force Selection Board is the Board responsible for selecting candidates who have cleared the AFCAT exam. There are four  AFSB centers in India i.e. Dehradun, Mysore, Gandhinagar, and Varanasi.

The AFSB looks in a candidate for an officer like quality and thus selects them on basis of several tests which go on for 5 – 7 days.

Here is a general schedule of the AFSB exam:

    • Day 1: Phase 1- Officer Intelligence Rating and Picture Perception and Discussion Tests.
    • Day 2: Psychological Tests and PABT for Flying Branch candidates
    • Day 3: Group Tests/ Interviews
    • Day 4: Group Tests/ Interviews
    • Day 5: Group Tests/ Interviews
    • Day 6: Group Tests/ Interviews, Board Conference.

Defense Services

ATSE 2019 Scholarship Worth 12 Lac for Class 4 to Class 12 Apply Now!!


Leave a Reply